A Pretty Yummy Foods guest post by Melissa Vanni!

Hi!  My name is Melissa and I am the writer of Pretty Yummy Foods, wife to my handsome husband and mother to four very silly little boys. Christina and I go way back and I remember that nobody looked cuter in Birkenstocks and tie-dye than she did in high school.  When she asked if I wanted to share something on her blog I immediately said “Yes!” I then asked Christina what she would like me to share and she replied “Anything you want – just don’t talk about cancer.” Fair enough I thought, and if you know Christina at all, you would know that her spirit is the exact opposite of what cancer is. Where cancer is angry, unwelcomed, and brash, she is kind, loving and full of grace. I completely understood why she wouldn’t want to be associated with such an ugly intruder, so I instead turned my thoughts to what does remind me of Christina. Because of her baking addiction I had to make her cupcakes, and because of her sunny disposition they had to be lemon (her favorite). To help make these cupcakes unique I decided to throw in a little rosemary, and just like my friend Christina these pretty little cupcakes totally brightened my day!  So here’s what you’re going to need for a dozen cupcakes!

For the cupcakes:

1 1/2 cups of flour
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 stalks of fresh rosemary, finely chopped
1/2 cup room temperature butter
2/3 cup granulated white sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup of milk (not shown, oops!)

For the glaze:

1 cup of powdered sugar
the juice and the zest of 1 lemon

In a medium-sized bowl whisk together your flour, baking powder, and salt.
In another larger bowl cream together your sugar and butter with an electric mixer. To that gradually beat in your eggs and vanilla. Now with your mixer on low add in your flour mixture and milk. Lastly fold in your rosemary with a spatula.

Line a muffin tin with paper cups and fill those cups with your cupcake batter.

Pop them into a 350 degree oven for 18-20 minutes, or until a wooden toothpick inserted into a cupcake comes out clean.


A little sweet and a little tangy. Kind of reminds me of someone I know….  Enjoy!
Note from Miss Mamaknowszest:  Check out Melissa’s lovely wealth of recipes at her highly popular food blog at:
Thanks for reading!  Take care.
Leave a Reply

